Date: Wednesday 6 December 2023

Time: 4:00pm—5:30pm (Malaysia Time)

Place: Grand Residence 102, Grand Hyatt + Zoom

Attendees (24):

  • Lin Lin (TC Chair), Tongji University, China
  • Adam Noel (TC Vice Chair), University of Warwick, UK
  • Nan Yang (TC Secretary), Australian National University, Australia
  • Prabhat Kumar Sharma (TC Social media chair), VNIT Nagpur, India
  • Maximilian Schäfer (TC Educational services coordinator), FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
  • Joana Angjo, Koc University, Turkey
  • Lukas Brand, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg, Germany
  • Dadi Bi, King’s College London, UK
  • Lisa Debus, TU Berlin, Germany
  • Yansha Deng, King’s College London, UK
  • Falko Dressler, TU Berlin, Germany
  • Andrew Eckford, York University, Canada
  • Werner Haselmayr, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
  • Pit Hofmann, TU Dresden, Germany
  • Yu Huang, Guangzhou University, China
  • Dongliang Jing, Northwest A&F University, China
  • Sebastian Lotter, FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany
  • Maurizio Magarini, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
  • Masoumeh Nasiri Kenari, Sharif University of Technology, Iran
  • Tobias Pankratz, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria
  • Tatsuya Suda, University Netgroup, Inc., USA
  • Jorge Torres, TU Berlin, Germany
  • Miaowen Wen, South China University of Technology, China
  • Uche A.K Okonkwo, University of Johannesburg, South Africa


1. Call to order

Prof. Lin opens the virtual meeting and calls to order. No additional item was raised by attendees. The minutes of the MBMC-TC mid-year meeting, held on 9 May 2023, were endorsed by the TC.

2. Chair’s report

a) Prof. Lin described the TC:

  • Becoming a full ComSoc TC in 2019;
    • Dedicated to promoting molecular, biological, and multi-scale communications;
    • Providing a forum for discussion and broadening professional opportunities of its members, professional resources and support;
    • Big thanks to Tadashi’s effort for making ETI to a TC;
    • Big thanks to Andrew for TC’s significant progress between 2020 and 2021.
  • T-MBMC SCI indexed;
    • Big thanks to Andrew, Urbashi, Chan-Byoung, Sasi. 88 submissions/year, an upward trend.
  • MBMC SAC Tracks in IEEE ICC/Globecom
    • Big thanks to Massimiliano, Chun Tung, Michael, Masoumeh, and future Chairs, Hamdan, Prabhat, Maximilian.
  • Endorse other related conferences/workshops
    • ACM NanoCom, WMC, BICT; KCL MBMC workshop, Wi-Bi in India.
  • Own mailing list and social media platform
    • Over 200 members; Big thanks to Prabhat.
  • Educational service
    • 1 event started, 1 planned; Big thanks to Maximilian.
  • IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Lecturers
    • Congratulations to Chan-Byoung, Andrew, Nan.
  • Support ComSoc Student Competition Program
    • Big thanks to Jens and Dadi
  • Our field is growing healthily.

b) Prof. Lin introduced the TC officers (2022—2023), including the chair, vice-chair, secretary, social media chair, and education service coordinator.

c) Dr. Sharma introduced the current status of social platforms.

  • Facebook:
  • X or Twitter: @mbmctc
  • LinkedIn:
  • YouTube:
  • Email address:

3. TMBMC report

Prof. Lin presented the TMBMC report on behalf of Sasi, including:

  • First impact factor.
  • The number of submissions increased from 37 (2022) to 88 (2023).
  • Summary of special issues.
  • Statistics of submissions and Associate Editor Awards.
  • Goals.

4. Conference report

a) IEEE Globecom 2023 report (Track chair: Prof. Masoumeh Nasiri-Kenari)

  • Location and duration: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, 4—8 December 2023
  • Conference format: In-person.
  • Paper submission: 23 papers (22 within MBMC scope).
  • Paper acceptance: 8 papers accepted (Papers 8 and 9 have the same score).
  • Lecture session and interactive session held at Globecom 2023.

b) IEEE ICC 2024 report (Track chair: Dr. Hamdan Awan)

  • Location and duration: Denver, CO, 9-13 June 2024
  • Conference format: In-person.
  • Paper submission: 12 papers
  • TPC members: 18
  • Paper acceptance: 4-5, possible 1 session only. Our track needs more submissions for future IEEE ICC/Globecom to reach pre-pandemic levels.

c) Future conferences

  • IEEE Globecom 2024, Cape Town, South Africa. 8–12 December 2024. Prabhat Sharma will act as the Track Chair.
  • IEEE ICC 2025, Montreal, Canada.
  • IEEE Globecom 2025, Taipei, Taiwan.
  • Track chairs are typically appointed 2 years ahead of the conference. If you’re interested to serve as the track chair, please contact the TC chair.

5. Officer Election

Prof. Andrew Eckford introduced the nomination and election subcommittee (including himself, Massimiliano, and Dongliang), election procedure, and candidates. Then he explained eligible voters. All candidates gave their statements orally. After voting, Andrew confirmed the results of election. Specifically, the following people are elected as MBMC-TC officers (2024–2025):

  • Chair: Adam Noel
  • Vice-Chair: Nan Yang
  • Secretary: Werner Haselmayr

6. Discussions

Dr. Maximilian Schäfer introduced educational activities, as well as the first talk.

7. New business

No new business was raised.

8. Adjournment

Prof. Lin adjourned.